StrategicRISK rewarded excellence in Asia–Pacific’s risk management community at a gala reception in Singapore

Singapore’s Grant Hyatt hotel played host to StrategicRISK’s annual Asia-Pacific Risk Management Awards 2019, attended by the great and the good in the region’s risk management community.

Twenty individuals and companies made it to the final, after a record number of entries.  During the ceremony William Sanders, global publisher,  StrategicRISK praised the achievements of all the shortlisted finalists.

”Every year the standard of entries continues to increase making it harder to get shortlisted.  Added to this, in 2019 our judges have only selected three finalists per category. Making it this far is a huge achievement,” said Sanders. 

Seven awards were given by hosts, StrategicRISK Asia-Pacific editor Lauren Gow and William Sanders. 

Some of the big winners on the night included Suchitra Narayanan who took home the Asia-Pacific Risk Manager of the Year Award, and NETS for Risk Management Team of the Year.  Allianz Global Corporate & Specialty was presented the Insurance Innovation of the Year award. 

StrategicRISK’s Awards are independently judged by a panel of hand-picked risk experts (see below) with a new two-step judging process introduced in 2019.  All entries were scored by a panel of judges to create the finalist shortlist.  In the second round of judging, finalists were interviewed by a separate panel of risk management experts.

Commenting during the ceremony, Gow thanked the judging panel for ensuring, “each entry was rigorously scrutinised and reviewed entirely independently.”

StrategicRISK would like to congratulate all of the winners and finalists for making the Asia-Pacific Risk Management Awards such a tightly run race and a night to remember.  A full list of winners is below, and all of the highlights will appear in a special issue out soon.


Congratulations to StrategicRISK Asia-Pacific Risk Management Awards 2019 winners

Risk Manager of the Year
Suchitra Narayanan

Risk Management Team of the Year

Risk Programme of the Year
PLUS Malaysia Berhad

Strategic Risk Award
Changi Airport

Insurance Innovation of the Year Award
Allianz Global Corporate & Specialty

Broker Innovation of the Year Award

Risk Solution of the Year
Catalyst Technologies

2019 Judges

Tom Cohen, Group Head of Risk Management, Swire Pacific

Patrick Abdullah, Vice President, Enterprise Risk Management, Astro Overseas Limited

Kimberley Pelly, General Manager Risk & Safety, PCYC Queensland

Irene Lye, Head, Enterprise Risk Management, Ascendas-Singbridge

Jeff Yeo, Project & Risk Control Practitioner, Global Financial Institution

Roland Teo, Deputy director, enterprise risk management, Singapore healthcare provider

Eamonn Cunningham, Director & Risk Management Consultant, 15B Pty Ltd

Kevin Bates, Group Head of Risk & Insurance, Lend Lease

Ryan Tan, Vice President, Mergers & Acquisitions, StarHub

Victoria Tan, Head, Group Risk Management & Sustainability Unit, Ayala Corporation

David Ralph, Senior Vice President, Risk Management, PCCW Ltd

Steve Tunstall, CEO,

Chris Corless, Associate Director, Enterprise Risk & Audit Leader, KPMG

Ian May, Group Insurance Manager, Ventia

Deborah D’Souza, Manager Group Insurance, Commonwealth Bank

Parikshit Sen Gupta, VP Finance & Head Supply Chain, Shangri La Hotels & Resorts